Sex: Male

ID Number: 7065

Breed: Chihuahua / Dachshund / Mixed (short coat)

Age: 6 Years 9 Months (Birthdate: 3/8/2017)

Size: 30.0 lbs. (Small)

Other: Neutered, Vaccinations current, Microchip

Housetrained: Yes

Exercise: Moderate Exercise Needed

Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

New People: Cautious

Dog Friendly: Yes

Cat Friendly: Yes

Adoption Fee: $250

If you are interested in an available dog, fill out an adoption application at 4luvofdog.org/faqadoption. All interested parties must fill out an adoption application before inquiring about any dogs with 4 Luv of Dog Rescue.
If you are a previous adopter or have already completed the application and home visit process and received confirmation that you were approved, email: adoptioncoords@4luvofdog.org

Adoption Application

To meet the dogs, look at our calendar of events, or if you'd like a private meeting, please submit your adoption application to become approved adopter.

Learn More About Opie

If you would like to provide this dog a loving home, please fill out a pre-adoption application. 

Have a question? Please read our Frequently Asked Questions and Adoption Processed Explained documentation.

_________ B I O ______________ 

Name: Opie
Size: ~Small/Medium range: Up to 30 lbs 
Adoption Donation:  $250 (applicable sales tax included).  Adoption fees may be paid by cash or check.  
Other: Neutered Male, Vaccinations current, Microchip 


Opie is a sweet little guy looking for his forever family to love and snuggle him!


Foster Home Feedback 

11/16/2023 Foster Feedback: Opie loves going on walks and being outside in the yard. He also enjoys naps on laps. Opie is house trained and sleeps in his crate. He gets a little anxious around new people, but mellows out quickly once he determines you’re not a threat. He only barks if someone comes to the door. We’ve started leaving him out of his crate when we’re gone for short periods of time and he’s done great, doesn’t chew on anything he isn’t supposed to. We’re currently working on slimming him down a bit, which should be pretty easy with all the walks and play time.

1/6/2022: Good morning dog lovers! My name is Opie and I am a 5-year-old dachshund (although I really don’t look dachshund – I’m far too handsome for that!). I am a pretty active boy, but you wouldn’t think so looking at me, I’m a bit on the porky side and need a person to put me on a diet (and stick with it) to help me lose some weight so I can remain a healthy active guy. I’m happy to get exercise but could use some work on my leash manners. Actually, I would probably do best if I had a walking harness rather than a collar.  

My foster mom is working from home today because of a storm and I keep TRYING TO GET HER TO PLAY WITH ME, I bring her toys, poke her, whine, but no, I don’t know what she wants from me. I think I am pretty clear. It must be playtime (squeak, squeak). I absolutely love my foster mom and like to spend my time with her, hanging out.

Down to the boring stuff, I am housebroken and kennel trained. I might bark some when I am in my kennel, especially if I were alone (I have A LOT of pets to keep me company in my foster home), but since she is at work, my foster mom doesn’t know for sure about that. I prefer to sleep with you, because being close shows you how much I love you! I am not food or toy aggressive. I am kind of interested in my foster cats, but it has been explained to me to leave them alone so I’m working on that and getting better.

I would love to meet you, and I think you would love me too!

To view additional dogs available for adoption, please see our website: www.4luvofdog.org

Have Questions?

Read our Adoption FAQ & Adoption Process Explained documentation.